Tony Kershaw Director of Law and Assurance

If calling, please ask for

Jack Caine on 033022 28941 Email: jack.caine@westsussex.gov.uk

County Hall Chichester West Sussex PO19 1RQ www.westsussex.gov.uk @DemService

https://www.facebook.com/aruntalkwithus

11 June 2018

A meeting of the Joint Eastern Arun Area Committee will be held at 7.00 pm on Tuesday, 19 June 2018 at The Millennium Chamber, Littlehampton Town Council

Tony Kershaw Director of Law and Assurance

Your local Councillors

West Sussex County Councillors:





Ian Buckland Littlehampton Town

Elkins East Preston & Ferring



Markwell Arundel & Courtwick



Daniel Purchese Rustington



DISTRICT COUNCIL

Deborah Urquhart Angmering & Findon



Walsh Littlehampton East



Colin Cates Littlehampton



East Preston

Chapman & Findon

Andy Cooper Angmering



Neno Rustington



Colin **Oliver-Redgate** Ferring



Robert Wheal Arundel & Walberton

Town and Parish Councillors: Angmering <u>Arundel</u>



Mr John Oldfield Mr Mark Phillips Mr Paul Challen Mr Giles Allen Mr Steve Toney Mrs Carol Robertson Mr Robin Carr Mr Peter Looker Mrs Geraldine Walker Mr Billy Blanchard-Cooper Ms Tracey Frampton Mr Paul Isaacs Mr Bryan Curtis Mr Jamie Bennett Mr Ryan Hayden **Mr Archie Naughton**

Invite you to come along to the Joint Eastern Arun Area Committee



Working with Town and Parish Councils

Area Committees consider a range of issues concerning the local area, and where relevant make decisions. It is a meeting in public and has a regular 'talk with us' item where the public can ask questions of their local elected representatives.

Agenda

7.00 pm 1. **Welcome**

2. Appointments

(a) Appointment of Chairman of the Joint Eastern Arun Area Committee (JEAAC)

The Chairman for 2018/19 will be a Town or Parish Councillor. Nominations will be invited from Parish and Town Councillors (All Members to vote)

(b) Appointment of Vice Chairman of JEAAC and Chairman of the County Local Committee (CLC)

Nominations will be invited from County Councillors (County Councillors only to vote)

(c) Appointment of a Lead Member from Arun District Council.

This appointment was made by the Leader of Arun District Council and is confirmed as **Clir Terry Chapman**

(d) Appointment of Chairman of the Highways and Transport Sub Group.

Nominations will be invited from County Councillors. (County Councillors only to vote)

(e) Appointment of representatives to the Community Initiative Funding Sub Group (WSCC Fund)

Membership of the Community Initiative Funding Sub Group is to be agreed by JEAAC. Current membership is as follows:

Deborah Urquhart (WSCC) Emma Neno (ADC) Geraldine Walker (Parish Council)

(f) Appointment of representatives to the Conservation Area Advisory Committee

The Terms of Reference for the above advisory committee require annual nominations for one representative and one substitute from a Town or Parish Council. The current appointed representative for JEAAC is Councillor Mrs Walker from Kingston Parish Council with Councillor Mr Joop Duijf as substitute.

7.05 pm 3. Declarations of Interest

Members and officers must declare any pecuniary or personal interest in any business on the agenda. They shall also make declarations at any stage should any such interest become apparent during the meeting. Consideration should be given to leaving the meeting if the nature of the interest warrants it. If in doubt contact Democratic Services before the meeting.

It is recorded in the register of interests that:

- Dr Walsh is a Member of Arun District Council and Littlehampton Town Council.
- Mr Ian Buckland is a Member of Arun District Council and Littlehampton Town Council.
- Mr Daniel Purchese is a Member of Arun District Council and Littlehampton Town Council.
- Mr Roger Elkins is a Member of of Arun District Council and Ferring Parish Council.

These interests only need to be declared at the meeting if there is an agenda item to which they relate.

7.10 pm 4. **Minutes** (Pages 7 - 12)

To confirm the Minutes of the previous meeting held on 6 March 2018 (cream paper).

7.15 pm 5. Urgent Matter

To consider any items not on the agenda, which the Chairman of the meeting is of the opinion should be considered as a matter of urgency by reason of special circumstances.

7.15 pm 6. **Progress Statement** (Pages 13 - 18)

To considered updates on statements of progress made on issues raised at previous meeting pertinent to the area.

7.20 pm 7. 'Talk with us' - Public Questions

To invite questions from members of the public present at the meeting.

The Committee would encourage members of the public to submit their questions at least 3 days in advance of the meeting to allow more substantive answers to be given.

Please contact Jack Caine on 0330 222 8941 or via email jack.caine@Westsussex.gov.uk

7.40 pm 8. **Community Police Issues** (Pages 19 - 20)

A local Police representative will be in attendance to update Members on Community Policing issues and answer questions.

Details of reported crimes can be found at <u>http://www.police.uk</u>

7.55 pm 9. Sussex Community Housing Hub

Members will receive a presentation from the recently launched Sussex Community Housing Hub that provides advice and support to community led housing groups including: Community Land Trusts, Co-operatives, Co-Housing and Self Build.

8.10 pm 10. Community Armed Forces Covenant - An Integrated Approach

The Committee will receive an update on the Community Armed Forces Covenant.

8.25 pm 11. Community Initiative Fun (Pages 21 - 26)

Report by the Director of Law and Assurance.

The County Council Members of the Committee are invited to consider pitches made to the Community Initiative Fund via The West Sussex Crowd and pledge funding accordingly.

8.35 pm 12. Highways and Transport Sub Group (Pages 27 - 36)

Notes from the last meeting of the JEAAC Highways and Transport Sub Group held on 17 May 2018.

Members are asked to note the report and consider the recommendations.

8.45 pm 13. Nominations to School and Academy Governing Bodies (Pages 37 - 42)

Report by Director of Education & Skills.

The County Council Members of the Committee are asked to consider the reappointment of Authority School Governors as set out in the Report.

8.50 pm 14. Items to be raised by Town and Parish Council representatives.

To consider any items from Town or Parish Council representatives that have not been covered by the agenda and are thought to be in the interest of the whole Committee. Town and Parish Council representatives are reminded that any Highways and Transport items should be taken to the JEAAC Highways and Transport Sub Group in the first instance.

The Chairman would encourage members to submit their question at least 3 days in advance of the meeting to allow a more substantive answer to be given. Please contact Jack Caine on 0330 222 8941 or via email at Jack.Caine@westsussex.gov.uk

9.00 pm 15. Items for consideration at future meetings

The following items are scheduled for discussion at future meetings:

- Arun Growth Plan and Local Plan
- Arun Business Partnership

9.00 pm 16. Date of next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be held on Tuesday 6 November 2018 at The White Swan Hotel, A27 Chichester Road, Arundel.

Members wishing to place an item on the agenda should notify Jack Caine on 0330 222 8941 or via email at: jack.caine@westsussex.gov.uk

Future meeting dates confirmed as: 5 March 2018

To: All members of the Joint Eastern Arun Area Committee

Filming and use of social media

During this meeting the public are allowed to film the Committee or use social media, providing it does not disrupt the meeting. You are encouraged to let officers know in advance if you wish to film. Mobile devices should be switched to silent for the duration of the meeting.